FOX Sports Exclusive
Official scorer won't restore no-hitter
The book on Armando Galarraga’s near-perfect game on Wednesday might not be entirely closed yet.
Galarraga lost his bid with two out in the ninth inning, when first-base umpire Jim Joyce ruled that Jason Donald was safe on a ground ball to the right side.
Joyce subsequently admitted that he was wrong. (“I had a great angle on it. I had great positioning on it. I just missed the damn call,” a dejected Joyce said afterward. “I thought he beat the play.”)
At this point, the only way to change the on-field ruling would be by special action of Major League Baseball commissioner Bud Selig.
However, it is technically possible that the scoring decision on the play could be changed from a hit to an error – thus preserving a no-hitter. One replay angle showed that Galarraga may have juggled the ball after receiving the throw from first baseman Miguel Cabrera.
Official scorer Chuck Klonke said late Wednesday night that he planned to review the replay before making any statements. After doing so, Klonke told the Detroit Free Press that he doesn’t think he will change the ruling.
“It didn’t appear to me that Galarraga ever lost control of the ball,” Klonke told the newspaper. “It was in his glove. I couldn’t say he was juggling it. He closed the glove on it. I don’t think it would warrant calling an error. I don’t think there will be any changes on that.”
Klonke has been working as an official scorer at Tigers games since 1982.
More Stories From Jon Paul Morosi