Jeter milestone hit changed to an error, but he still gets keepsake

Derek Jeter has milestone hit ruled an error.

MLB rules Cleveland first baseman Carlos Santana erred on this play on Aug. 8.

Adam Hunger / USA TODAY Sports

Subtract a hit from Derek Jeter’s career total — and feel free to throw away ticket stubs from the Aug. 8 Indians at Yankees game.

On Tuesday, Major League Baseball announced a scoring change resulting in Jeter losing a milestone-tying hit on Aug. 8 against visiting Cleveland, MLB.com reported.

MLB ruled that Jeter reached first base on an error by Indians first baseman Carlos Santana, instead of the play being an infield single, which was the initial call by the official scorekeeper.

What was once Jeter’s 3,430th career hit to tie Honus Wagner for sixth on the all-time list is now just an error on a Cleveland first baseman.

The hit that tied Wagner is now an infield single in the sixth inning against Cleveland’s Corey Kluber on Aug. 9.

And a second-inning double two days later at Baltimore against Bud Norris is the hit that catapulted Jeter past Wagner.

MLB.com reports that Yankees athletic trainer Steve Donohue, fearing the initial call from Aug. 8 could be overturned, played it safe and retrieved the other balls — at the time — for Jeter.

“There’s no story,” Jeter told The Associated Press on Tuesday. “If it was the last hit I'd ever gotten, it would be a story.” 

AP reported the Yankees claimed it was Cleveland pitcher Trevor Bauer who requested the play be reviewed by MLB. The ruling saved the Indians right-hander two earned runs. 

Below is video of the hit that was taken away.

The inline being referenced is no longer available (deleted from the original page). Please select another inline or remove the component

Download the new FOX Sports App to get the latest news and scores from your MLB team.