Another replay fail: Umps blow strikeout – even after review

During Tuesday’s game between the Tampa Bay Rays and the Minnesota Twins, the Rays’ Yunel Escobar struck out on a 4-2 count.

That’s right, a 4-2 count.

The confusion began when it appeared that Escobar foul-tipped a pitch past the catcher when he actually had checked his swing and did not make contact with the baseball.

The at-bat continued until the count was full, at which point the umpires convened in an attempt to sort out what the actual count should be.

The umps went to instant replay, but then still declared the count was full after review.

Escobar ended up striking out after he should have been awarded first base. Major League Baseball acknowledged the mistake in a statement following the game, but Escobar must wish the error could have been corrected the first time. The Rays won the game, 7-3.