'Pillars' get their place in Hall

Share This Story



Thoroughbred racing's Hall of Fame is getting a new category to honor humans.

The National Museum of Racing said Wednesday that it's adding a new category called Pillars of the Turf starting in 2013. It will honor individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the sport in a leadership or pioneering category on a national level. The hall's other three categories are for horses, jockeys and trainers.

Candidates for the new honor must have represented the sport with integrity and commitment through innovation, philanthropy, promotion and education, breeding and ownership. A minimum of 25 years active participation in the sport is required to be considered. A historic and contemporary finalist will be chosen each year. To be elected to the hall, an individual must receive 75 percent of the committee's vote.

Related Stories

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by

More Than Sports on MSN

Fox Sports Store