'Road to the Kentucky Derby' includes 34 races

Share This Story



The ''Road to the Kentucky Derby'' series will include 34 races, with a point system deciding which horses run in next year's first leg of the Triple Crown.

Churchill Downs said Friday the series has been reduced by two races. Two races - the Iroquois at Churchill and the Jerome at Aqueduct - have been added to the prep portion of the series between September and mid-February.

Three preps were removed: the Royal Lodge in Europe, the CashCall Futurity at Betfair Hollywood Park and the Sam F. Davis in Florida. The Derby Trial, run a week before the Derby since 1982, has been dropped as a wild-card race.

A sliding scale of points is awarded to the top four finishers in select races. The top 20 point earners nominated to the Triple Crown can start in the Derby on May 3.

A year ago, Churchill dropped the graded stakes earnings criteria that had been used for 27 years to decide the field.

Related Stories

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by


Winston: Accountability is important to me Posted: Jul 21, 2014
Defending Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston talks about dealing with scrutiny...

The Fighter and The Kid presents The Setup: Triangle Choke edition Posted: Jul 21, 2014
The Fighter & the Kid co-hosts Brendan Schaub and Bryan Callen demonstrate the t...

Petrino grateful for 2nd chance at Louisville Posted: Jul 22, 2014
Bobby Petrino comments on getting a second shot with the Cardinals and competing...

Fox Sports Store