Spain and Australia advance to Davis Cup final

Share This Story

foxsports admin

Melbourne, Australia (Sports Network) - Spaniard defeated in straight sets, 6-1, 6-4, 6-2, Sunday to give Spain a 3-2 series victory over Argentina in the best-of-five Davis Cup semifinal showdown at Melbourne Park. With Spain leading Argentina 2-1, surprised Juan Carlos Ferrero with a straight-set win, 6-4, 7-5, 6-1, to even the series and leave the outcome up to Moya and Gaudio.

Argentina played without its top two stars, as world No. 5 and world No. 9 pulled out last week due to injuries. Coria was a French Open semifinalist, while Nalbandian reached the final four at the U.S. Open.

Spain, the 2000 Davis Cup champion, reached its second final in four years.

Spain captured

its lone

Davis Cup

championship by

beating Australia three years ago in Barcelona.

The Spaniards will meet Australia in the Davis Cup final in the last week of November. The Aussies will be the host of the championship round.

Australia knocked off Switzerland, 3-2, in the other semifinal encounter.

gave Australia the insurmountable 3-1 advantage when he defeated Wimbledon champion in five sets, 5-7, 2-6, 7-6 (7-4), 7-5, 6-1.

In the meaningless fifth match, Swiss was credit with a victory when retired. Kratochvil had won the first set, 6-4.

The 27-time Davis Cup champion Aussies have appeared in three of the last four finals, going 1-2, with their last title coming in 1999.

More Stories From foxsports admin

More Than Sports on MSN