JGR Qualifying Report - Ford 400

Share This Story

foxsports admin


Date: Nov. 17, 2006
Event: Ford 400 Qualifying
Series: NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series
Location: Homestead-Miami Speedway (1.5-mile oval)
Pole Winner: Kasey Kahne of Evernham Motorsports
JGR Lineup: J.J. Yeley (8th); Tony Stewart (21st); Denny Hamlin (33rd) J.J. Yeley, driver of the No. 18 Interstate Batteries Chevrolet, led the three-car Joe Gibbs Racing contingent by qualifying eighth for Sunday's Ford 400 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series race at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Yeley turned a lap of 30.494 seconds at 177.084 mph on the 1.5-mile oval. "That was an excellent run for the Interstate Batteries Chevy," said Yeley. "I was just a little bit loose through (turns) three and four. Obviously, it still wouldn't have been a pole run, but as tight at the field is, a .49 could have been a .40 and we could be sixth instead of eighth. It was an excellent run. We worked the entire practice on qualifying, and it paid off for today." Yeley's Joe Gibbs Racing teammates - Tony Stewart in the No. 20 Home Depot Chevrolet and Denny Hamlin in the No. 11 FedEx Express Chevrolet - qualified 21st and 33rd, respectively. Stewart turned a lap of 30.663 seconds at a speed of 176.108 mph, while Hamlin timed in at 30.794 seconds with an average speed of 175.359 mph. "I just overdrove it," said Stewart. "In both corners, I just went in too hard. The car is good. We'll work on it some more in practice and get it right for Sunday" "That wasn't very good for us," said Hamlin. "We were way too loose. We're going to end up being mired back in the pack. I think we've got some improvement to do. I think in race trim though, our car is going to be just fine." Kasey Kahne captured his 12th career pole position and his sixth of the season with a time of 30.293 seconds at a speed of 178.259 mph. Rounding out the top-five in qualifying were Scott Riggs (30.300 seconds at 178.218 mph), Kyle Busch (30.317 seconds at 178.118 mph), Elliott Sadler (30.327 seconds at 178.059 mph) and Jeff Burton (30.340 seconds at 177.983 mph). Fifty-six drivers attempted to qualify for the 267-lap race. Those not making the cut in the 43-car field were Ward Burton, Brandon Whitt, Casey Atwood, Kenny Wallace, Todd Kluever, David Ragan, Michael Waltrip, Mike Skinner, Derrike Cope, Kevin Lepage, Carl Long, Chad Chaffin and Morgan Shepherd. As far as manufacturers went, Dodge took the top spot thanks to Kahne's pole-winning time. Chevrolet was next best at the hands of Busch, while the top Ford was David Gilliland who qualified ninth at 30.507 seconds at 177.009 mph. The Ford 400 gets underway on Sun., Nov. 19 at 2:55 p.m. EST. NBC will broadcast the race live and in high-definition.

More Stories From foxsports admin

More Than Sports on MSN