Fontana Race Report

Share This Story

foxsports admin



Tyler Walker, who will share driving duties with Kasey Kahne in the No. 38 Great Clips Dodge for the 2005 season, finished 39th in Saturday's Stater Bros. 300 NASCAR Busch Series race at California Speedway after starting in 13th position.

After struggling with an ill-handling car for the majority of the first 30 laps, Walker dropped back to 22nd position. He began climbing his way back towards the front with some help from Kahne.

Kahne was on the spotter stand watching the race and helping to coach Walker through his first event at the 1.5-mile speedway. The duo was working well together and just as Walker moved up to the 18th spot, an on-track incident sent him spinning into the outside retaining wall on lap 49. The damage was too much to repair and the team had to call it an early day.

"It's a long year," said Walker. "I'm a Raybestos Rookie, and I've got some things to learn. I hate that this happened today, I've got to thank Great Clips and Jon Wolfe (crew chief), Doug Stringer (team owner) and all the guys on the 38 Dodge for their hard work this weekend.

"I was just trying to make a pass," said Walker. I was going by a car and I thought we had cleared the car on the outside and it was just one of those mistakes. It's something I've learned from and will take on to the next race. I'm just so grateful for this opportunity and to be out here racing and we're learning every time. You won't see me make too many of these mistakes, I promise you that."

Martin took the checkered flag in the Stater Bros. 300. Kevin Harvick, Shane Hmiel, Clint Bowyer and Reed Sorenson completed the top five.

Stater Bros. 300 Unofficial Finish

  1. Mark Martin Penzoil Platinum Ford
  2. Kevin Harvick Reese's Chevy
  3. Shane Hmiel Win Fuel Chevy
  4. Clint Bowyer ACDelco Chevy
  5. Reed Sorenson America's Tire Co.
  6. Carl Edwards Charter Communications Ford
  7. Jamie McMurray Top Flite Dodge
  8. David Stremme U.S. Coast Guard Chevy
  9. Matt Kenseth Waste Management Ford
  10. Dale Jarrett Citifincial Ford
39. Tyler Walker Great Clips Dodge

NASCAR Busch Series Unofficial Points

  1. Kevin Harvick 340
  2. Reed Sorenson 293
  3. Carl Edwards 289
  4. Clint Bowyer 287
  5. Tony Stewart 271
  6. Ashton Lewis 254
  7. Joe Nemechek 248
  8. Martin Truex Jr. 233
  9. Paul Menard 220
  10. David Green 218
Next Race
Telcel Motorola Mexico 200, Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez
3 p.m. EDT, Sunday, March 6, 2005
Television: FOX (3 p.m. EDT)
Radio: MRN (2:15 p.m. EDT)

More Stories From foxsports admin

More Than Sports on MSN