Eight players named to U.S. Walker Cup team

Share This Story

foxsports admin

Far Hills, NJ (Sports Network) - The United States Golf Association Monday named eight of the 10 members for the 2003 Walker Cup matches to be contested at Ganton Golf Club in North Yorkshire, England. The matches, which will take place on September 6 and 7, pits 10 players from the United States against a team representing Great Britain and Ireland. The final two players will be selected to the squad after the U.S. Amateur Championship on August 24.

Those selected Monday included Bill Haas, Trip Kuehne, Matt Hendrix, Brock Mackenzie, Ryan Moore, Chris Nallen, Adam Rubinson and Casey Wittenberg.

The coach of the team is Bob Lewis, a four-time Walker Cup team member and three-time USGA championship runner-up.

Haas and Kuehne recently qualified for the U.S. Open. Kuehne is the only one of the eight players that has previous Walker Cup experience, having played on the 1995 team. Haas meanwhile was a semifinalist in the 2002 U.S. Amateur after being the medalist during the stroke play portion.

Hendrix, who will be a senior this fall, was a member of Clemson's 2003 NCAA Championship and Atlantic Coast Conference Championship team. Mackenzie finished fifth in the 2003 NCAA Championship while a member of the University of Washington's golf team. He set a school record with his 71.1 stroke average in 2002.

Moore won the 2002 U.S. Amateur Public Links championship and was a quarterfinalist at the 2002 U.S. Amateur. He also qualified for the 2002 U.S. Open and made the cut at the 2003 Masters Tournament. Nallen won the 2003 Northeast Amateur and finished fourth at the 2002 Porter Cup.

Rubinson was the 2003 Conference USA Player of the Year and recently finished fifth at the 2003 Northeast Amateur. At 18, Wittenberg is the youngest member of either squad. In 2003, he has posted victories at the Southern Amateur and the Porter Cup.

The Great Britain/Ireland team consists of Nigel Edwards, Noel Fox, Graham Gordon, David Inglis, Stuart Manley, Colm Moriarty, Michael Skelton, Oliver Wilson, Stuart Wilson and Gary Wolstenholme. Wolstenholme is the oldest member of either team at the age of 42. The team will be captained by Garth McGimpsey.

The Walker Cup Match consists of 16 singles and eight foursomes (alternate shot) matches. The Great Britain and Ireland amateur team has won the last two matches, in 1999 and 2001, by identical scores of 15-9. The U.S. leads the all-time series, 31-6-1.

More Stories From foxsports admin

More Than Sports on MSN