Ballots distributed for Payton, Buchanan, Robinson Awards

Share This Story

foxsports admin

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - The race for the top player, defensive player, and coach in I-AA college football took a final step on Monday as ballots for the 2003 Walter Payton Award, Buck Buchanan Award, and Eddie Robinson Award were mailed to all voters. The ballots, which were sent to media and I-AA sports information directors selected for the voting process, will be due via fax by Wednesday, November 26th. The top three finalists (in terms of votes received) for the Walter Payton Award will be invited to attend the presentation of the Awards, with the winner of that Award not announced until the event. The 17th Annual I-AA College Football Awards will be held Dec. 18th in Chattanooga, TN, on the eve of the NCAA I-AA national championship.

One player has been added to the 16-member Walter Payton Award ballot since the most recent "Payton Watch" revision on October 29th, while the list of 16 Buck Buchanan Award finalists features four new names. Samford wide receiver Efrem Hill has been selected as a Payton finalist, while Delaware defensive end Shawn Johnson, Colgate linebacker Tem Lukabu, Wofford safety Matt Nelson, and Appalachian State defensive end K.T. Stovall have been selected as Buchanan finalists.

Following are the 32 players and 16 coaches appearing on the 2003 Walter Payton, Buck Buchanan, and Eddie Robinson Award ballots. Additional information on each player, as well as history and facts about each of the I-AA awards, is available at www.sportsnetwork.com.

2003 Walter Payton Award Finalists: Charles Anthony, RB, Tennessee State; Jermaine Austin, RB, Georgia Southern; Jamaal Branch, RB, Colgate; Alvin Cowan, QB, Yale; Bruce Eugene, QB, Grambling State; Terrance Freeney, RB, Northern Iowa; Rob Giancola, QB, Valparaiso; Andy Hall, QB, Delaware; *Efrem Hill, WR, Samford; Vick King, RB, McNeese State; Russ Michna, QB, Western Illinois; Jason Murrietta, QB, Northern Arizona; Quincy Richard, QB, Southern; Allen Suber, QB, Bethune-Cookman; Kirwin Watson, RB, Fordham; Marcus Williams, RB, Maine.

2003 Buck Buchanan Award Finalists: Jared Allen, DE, Idaho State; Steve Baggs, DE, Bethune-Cookman; Dante Balestracci, LB, Harvard; Jordan Beck, LB, Cal Poly; Liam Ezekiel, LB, Northeastern; Boomer Grigsby, LB, Illinois State; Kane Ioane, S, Montana State; *Shawn Johnson, DE, Delaware; *Tem Lukabu, LB, Colgate; Alexis Moreland, S, Southern Illinois; *Matt Nelson, S, Wofford; Nick Ricks, LB, Eastern Illinois; Roderick Royal, LB, McNeese State; Lee Russell, LB, Western Illinois; Joe Sentipal, LB, Monmouth; *K.T. Stovall, DE, Appalachian State.

2003 Eddie Robinson Award Finalists: Mike Ayers, Wofford; Al Bagnoli, Pennsylvania; Dick Biddle, Colgate; Kevin Callahan, Monmouth; Charlie Coe, Alabama State; Jack Crowe, Jacksonville State; Mark Farley, Northern Iowa; K.C. Keeler, Delaware; Jerry Kill, Southern Illinois; Pete Richardson, Southern; Howard Schnellenberger, Florida Atlantic; George Small, North Carolina A&T; Jerome Souers, Northern Arizona; Tommy Tate, McNeese State; Mark Whipple, Massachusetts; Doug Williams, Grambling State.

* - Added to list since last Payton/Buchanan revision on Oct. 29.

More Stories From foxsports admin

More Than Sports on MSN