Tringale tells on himself, is disqualified from PGA Championship
Aug 16, 2014 at 6:22p ET
Cameron Tringale has been disqualified from last week's PGA Championship after telling the rules committee that he might have whiffed on a tap-in putt in the final round and thus signed for an incorrect score.
Tringale tied for 33rd at Valhalla Golf Club.
Tringale signed for a 4 on the par-3 11th hole. He says his putter swung over the ball prior to tapping in from 3 inches for a bogey. Tringale says he called the PGA of America because of the slightest doubt whether his swing over the ball should have counted as a stroke.
Even though the competition is over, Tringale was disqualified under Rule 34-1-iii.
"While approaching the hole to tap in my 3-inch bogey putt, the putter swung over the ball prior to tapping in," Tringale said in a release. "Realizing that there could be the slightest doubt that the swing over the ball should have been recorded as a stroke, I spoke with the PGA of America and shared with them my conclusion that the stroke should have been recorded.
"I regret any inconvenience this has caused the PGA of America and my fellow competitors in what was a wonderful championship."
"We are very appreciative of Cameron coming forward to inform us of this situation," said Kerry Haigh, PGA of America chief championships officer. "It yet again shows the great values and traditions of the game and the honesty and integrity of its competitors.”
Tringale forfeits the $53,000 in earnings. He also loses 37 FedEx Cup points, which could be more costly.
Information from Golfweek.com was used in this story.