Golf

Oakley penalized for delay by caddie - his wife

Share This Story

   
 

TURNBERRY, Scotland (AP)

Former champion Pete Oakley was penalized two shots at the Senior British Open on Friday after the caddie - his wife - took too long locating his ball on a fairway during the second round.

The 63-year-old from Florida, who won the 2004 title at Royal Portrush, was penalized for `undue delay' when playing the 13th hole. His wife was confused when a ball from a group on the 10th tee landed nearby.

''I was looking at the wrong fairway,'' Jennifer Oakley said.

European Tour Senior Referee Andy McFee said: ''It came to our attention that Pete Oakley was having some trouble on the 13th hole.

''He stood by the bunker where his ball had landed for two or three minutes, then there was a couple of minutes wandering up to the tee, then a couple of minutes for the rules official to go and get the caddie from the 10th and bring her back.''

As a result, Oakley had to sign for an 83 instead of an 81. However, at 16 over, he had comfortably missed the cut.

''I might not have been laughing so much about it if the two-shot penalty had seen me miss the cut,'' Oakley said.

Tagged: Pete Oakley

Related Stories

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by



GOLF Videos

Can Tiger Woods recapture British Open magic Posted: Jul 14, 2014
Robert Lusetich looks back at Tiger Woods' past and ahead to his future at the B...

Will Mickelson win the British Open again? Posted: Jul 14, 2014
FOX Sports 1 golf analyst Robert Lusetich discusses Phil Mickelson's chances of ...

Mickelson looks to hit his stride Posted: Jul 14, 2014
Phil Mickelson discusses his up-and-down 2014 season.

Fox Sports Store