Golf

Hoey disqualified after a 70 for embedded lie

Share This Story

   
 

KIAWAH ISLAND, S.C. (AP)

Michael Hoey of Northern Ireland has been disqualified from the PGA Championship.

Hoey had one of only five rounds under par Friday at Kiawah, and he was to go into the weekend of the final major eight shots out of the lead. But only after he signed for a 2-under 70 did he realize he failed to re-create his lie on the ninth hole after removing his ball from an embedded lie to make sure it was his.

Hoey wiped away sand on the ninth hole. His mistake was not replacing the sand on his ball.

He was disqualified for not including the two-shot penalty, and thus signing an incorrect scorecard. Hoey is the one who brought the oversight to the attention of rules officials.

Tagged: Michael Hoey

Related Stories

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by



GOLF Videos

Can Tiger Woods recapture British Open magic Posted: Jul 14, 2014
Robert Lusetich looks back at Tiger Woods' past and ahead to his future at the B...

Will Mickelson win the British Open again? Posted: Jul 14, 2014
FOX Sports 1 golf analyst Robert Lusetich discusses Phil Mickelson's chances of ...

Mickelson looks to hit his stride Posted: Jul 14, 2014
Phil Mickelson discusses his up-and-down 2014 season.

Fox Sports Store