Field for the British Open

Share This Story


LYTHAM, England (AP)

The 156-man field for the 141st British Open, to be played July 19-22 at Royal Lytham & St. Annes (players listed only in first category for which they are eligible). Two spots are available Sunday at the Scottish Open and John Deere Classic:

British Open champions 60 or under on July 22: Darren Clarke, Louis Oosthuizen, Stewart Cink, Padraig Harrington, Tiger Woods, Todd Hamilton, Ben Curtis, Ernie Els, David Duval, Paul Lawrie, Justin Leonard, Tom Lehman, John Daly, Mark Calcavecchia, Sandy Lyle.

British Open champions from the top 10 in last five British Opens: Tom Watson.

Top 10 and ties from 2011 British Open: Phil Mickelson, Dustin Johnson, Thomas Bjorn, Chad Campbell, Rickie Fowler, Raphael Jacquelin, Sergio Garcia, Simon Dyson, Davis Love III.

Top 50 from world ranking on May 20: Rory McIlroy, Luke Donald, Lee Westwood, Bubba Watson, Matt Kuchar, Hunter Mahan, Steve Stricker, Justin Rose, Martin Kaymer, Adam Scott, Jason Dufner, Charl Schwartzel, Graeme McDowell, Bill Haas, Keegan Bradley, Peter Hanson, Brandt Snedeker, Nick Watney, Zach Johnson, Ian Poulter, K.J. Choi, Bo Van Pelt, Martin Laird, Nicolas Colsaerts, Francesco Molinari, Mark Wilson, John Senden, Carl Pettersson, Bae Sang-moon, Jim Furyk, Alvaro Quiros, Robert Karlsson, Fredrik Jacobson, Geoff Ogilvy, Aaron Baddeley, Anders Hansen, Kevin Na.

Top 30 from European Tour's Race to Dubai in 2011: Miguel Angel Jimenez, Alex Noren, Pablo Larrazabal, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano, Thomas Aiken, Joost Luiten, Michael Hoey, George Coetzee, Gregory Havret, Richie Ramsay, Paul Casey, Rafael Cabrera Bello.

BMW PGA Championship winners (3 years): 2012, Simon Khan.

Top 3 players from 2012 Race to Dubai on May 27: Branden Grace, Jbe Kruger, Robert Rock.

Top 2 European Tour members, not otherwise exempt, in a cumulative money list from seven European Tour events through the Irish Open: Thongchai Jaidee, Richard Sterne.

Leading player, not otherwise exempt, from the top five in the French Open and Scottish Open: Marcel Siem, TBD.

U.S. Open champions (5 years): Lucas Glover.

Masters champions (5 years): Angel Cabrera, Trevor Immelman.

PGA champions (5 years): Y.E. Yang.

Players Championship winners (3 years): Tim Clark.

Tour Championship field: Charles Howell III, Gary Woodland, Vijay Singh, Chez Reavie, Jonathan Byrd.

Top 3 from the FedEx Cup standings on May 20: Johnson Wagner, Kyle Stanley, John Huh.

Top 2 PGA Tour members, not exempt, in a cumulative money list from The Players Championship and the five PGA Tour events through The Greenbrier Classic: Marc Leishman, Ted Potter Jr.

Leading player, not otherwise exempt, form the top five in the Greenbrier Classic and John Deere Classic: Troy Kelly, TBD.

2011 Presidents Cup team members: Robert Allenby, Retief Goosen, Ryo Ishikawa, K.T. Kim.

Winner of the Asian Tour Order of Merit for 2011: Juvic Pagunsan.

Winner of the Australasian Tour Order of Merit for 2011: Greg Chalmers.

Winner of the Sunshine Tour Order of Merit for 2011: Garth Mulroy.

Top 2 players, not already exempt, on the 2011 Japan Golf Tour money list: Tadahiro Takayama, Toru Taniguchi.

Leading four players, not already exempt, in the 2012 Mizuno Open: Brad Kennedy, Toshinori Muto, Koumei Oda, Hiroyuki Fujita.

Top 2 players, not already exempt, from a cumulative money list on the Japan Golf Tour through the Mizuno Open: Yoshinori Fujimoto, Brendan Jones.

2011 Senior British Open champion: Russ Cochran.

British Amateur champion: a-Alan Dunbar.

European Amateur champion: a-Manuel Trappel.

International Final Qualifying (Australasia): Nicholas Cullen, Ashley, Hall, Aaron Townsend.

International Final Qualifying (Africa): Adilson Da Silva, Andrew Georgiou, Grant Veenstra

International Final Qualifying (Asia): Kodai Ichihara, Anirban Lahiri, Mardan Mamat, Praya Marksaeng

International Final Qualifying (America): Harris English, Greg Owen, Daniel Chopra, Stephen Ames, Justin Hicks, James Driscoll, Bob Estes, Andres Romero.

International Final Qualifying (Europe): James Morrison, Sam Walker, Jamie Donaldson, Alejandro Canizares, Marcus Fraser, Richard Finch, Ross Fisher, Matthew Baldwin, Thorbjorn Olesen, Lee Slattery.

Local Final Qualifying: Paul Broadhurst, Barry Lane, Rafael Echenique, Dale Whitnell, Warren Bennett, Steven Tiley, Scott Pinckney, Steven O'Hara, Steven Alker, Morten Orum, Ian Keenan, Elliot Saltman.


Reserve list: Ben Crane, Michael Thompson, Matteo Manassero.

Tagged: Justin Leonard, Jim Furyk, Matt Kuchar, Mark Calcavecchia, Charles Howell III, Davis Love III, Steve Stricker, Robert Allenby, John Daly, Tom Watson, John Huh, Dustin Johnson, Ian Keenan, Steven Tiley, Steven O'Hara, Mark Wilson, Justin Rose, Greg Chalmers, Paul Lawrie, Marc Leishman, Zach Johnson, Ian Poulter, Greg Owen, Ben Crane, Robert Rock, Adam Scott, Bo Van Pelt, Adilson Da Silva, John Senden, Johnson Wagner, Ben Curtis, Thomas Bjorn, Paul Broadhurst, Stephen Ames, Paul Casey, Kevin Na, Angel Cabrera, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Justin Hicks, Robert Karlsson, Scott Pinckney, Steven Alker

Related Stories

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by

More Than Sports on MSN

Fox Sports Store