Compton wins PGA Courage Award

Erik Compton, a two-time heart transplant recipient, won the inaugural PGA Tour Courage Award on Wednesday, Oct. 9, 2013
PGA Tour pro Erik Compton has had two heart transplants.
Share This Story


SAN MARTIN, California (AP)

Two-time heart transplant recipient Erik Compton is the winner of the inaugural PGA Tour Courage Award.


Who were all of the 2013 PGA Tour winners?

The PGA Tour Courage Award is for players who have overcome extraordinary adversity to make meaningful contributions to golf.

Compton was diagnosed at age 9 with viral cardiomyopathy and had his first heart transplant three years later in 1992. He had a heart attack in 2008 and required a second transplant. Compton still managed to make it to the PGA Tour, and this year made it through two FedEx Cup playoff events.

The award includes a $25,000 donation to the charity of the winner's choice. Compton said the money would be split between the Cardiovascular Institute of Miami and the Arnold Palmer Medical Center Foundation.

Tagged: Erik Compton

Related Stories

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by

More Than Sports on MSN

Fox Sports Store