galleryTitle description galleryUrl thumbnail
categoryName categoryId galleryId galleryTitle mediaId imageTitle imageURL league description shortDescription attribution large thumbnail
Golf 220 43 C'mon, ref!: Biggest blunders of the past year 11702483 "We've got an issue..." %26quot%3BWe%27ve+got+an+issue...%26quot%3B Golf

Martin Kaymer won the PGA Championship on Sunday, but the tournament will forever be remembered for Dustin Johnson's two-stroke penalty on the final hole for grounding his club in a bunker. The controversial decision to enforce the rule, even though the patch of sand was outside the ropes and not clearly a bunker, cost Johnson (pictured, with a rules official) a spot in a three-way playoff. It was also the latest example of officials stealing the headlines at important sporting events in the last 12 months. Here are eight more, ranked by how loudly we yelled, "Ref, you blew it!"

- Getty Images
Golf 220 43 C'mon, ref!: Biggest blunders of the past year 11702503 Tigers vs. Indians: The imperfect call Tigers+vs.+Indians%3A+The+imperfect+call+ Golf

Twenty-six up, twenty-six down. Ground ball to first. Pitcher races to the bag. Throw beats runner by a step. Perfect game, right!? Umm, not quite. Umpire Jim Joyce ruled Cleveland's Jason Donald safe with an infield hit, preventing Detroit's Armando Galarraga from throwing the 21st perfect game in major-league history. This story actually took a feel-good turn because of Joyce's remorse and Galarraga's graciousness. But we sure hope nothing like this happens again any time soon. The less we see of officials in the future, the better.

- Getty Images
Golf 220 43 C'mon, ref!: Biggest blunders of the past year 11702504 World Cup: U.S. vs. Slovenia World+Cup%3A+U.S.+vs.+Slovenia Golf

Down 2-0 in their second game of the 2010 World Cup, the Americans rallied to tie Slovenia, then appeared to take the lead in the 86th minute on a header by Maurice Edu. Malian referee Koman Coulibaly waved it off, however, preventing the U.S. from becoming the first team in 80 years to win a World Cup game after trailing by two goals at the half. To this day, Coulibaly hasn't explained his decision. Was it for offsides? Was there a foul? Replays showed no infraction whatsoever. Amazingly, the U.S. ended up winning its group anyway (despite another blown call disallowing a goal against Algeria), but Coulibaly became the poster boy for World Cup officiating incompetence.

- Getty Images
Golf 220 43 C'mon, ref!: Biggest blunders of the past year 11702505 World Cup qualifier: France vs. Ireland World+Cup+qualifier%3A+France+vs.+Ireland+ Golf

With a spot in the World Cup up for grabs, Thierry Henry seized it with his left hand. Well, to be precise, he stopped a long pass into the box with his hand, then crossed to French teammate William Gallas for the decisive goal. Somehow, referee Martin Hansson (pictured) and the two linesmen didn't see the handball and allowed the late score. There was justice of sorts as the undeserving French flamed out of the World Cup in an embarrassing, dissension-ridden performance, but that was of little consolation to the Irish. They were cheated.

- Getty Images
Golf 220 43 C'mon, ref!: Biggest blunders of the past year 11702563 U.S. Open: Serena's foot-in-her-mouth fault U.S.+Open%3A+Serena%27s+foot-in-her-mouth+fault Golf

Last September in the U.S. Open semifinals, Serena Williams trailed Kim Clijsters by a set and was serving at 5-6, 15-30 in the second when a line judge called a foot fault to give Clijsters a match point. Replays showed that both her feet were behind the line; it was a bad call. But not nearly as bad as Serena's reaction. Screaming at the offical and jabbing her finger, she threatened to "shove this ball down your f---- throat" among other f-bombs. Officials then assessed Williams a point penalty for a conduct violation, ending the match.

- Getty Images
Golf 220 43 C'mon, ref!: Biggest blunders of the past year 11702508 Super Bowl fess-up: My bad Super+Bowl+fess-up%3A+My+bad Golf

OK, Bill Leavy's big mistakes came in the Super Bowl four years ago, but the official got back in the news last month by apologizing to the Seahawks at their training camp. His blown calls helped the Steelers beat the Seahawks 21-10 in Super Bowl XL, and many Seattle fans probably still aren't in a forgiving mood.

- Getty Images
Golf 220 43 C'mon, ref!: Biggest blunders of the past year 11702506 NBA Finals: Stop blowing the whistle! NBA+Finals%3A+Stop+blowing+the+whistle%21 Golf

The refs blew several calls in the first two games of the NBA Finals, but the biggest problem was the sheer number of fouls. There were 54 in Game 1 and 58 in Game 2, with 67 free throws attempted in each game. Ray Allen and Kobe Bryant (pictured) were among those in serious foul trouble, often due to ticky-tack calls. The officials settled down a bit, averaging 43 calls over the final five games, though many Boston fans were miffed at the 12-5 foul discrepancy in the fourth quarter of Game 7.

- Getty Images
Golf 220 43 C'mon, ref!: Biggest blunders of the past year 11702583 ALDS: Joe Mauer, fair or foul? ALDS%3A+Joe+Mauer%2C+fair+or+foul%3F Golf

In the top of the 11th inning of Game 2 of the 2009 ALDS at Yankee Stadium, Twins catcher Joe Mauer poked a ball down the left-field line that glanced off Melky Cabrera's glove and landed at least a foot in fair territory. Left-field umpire Phil Cuzzi ruled it foul, however, and the Yankees ended up winning the game with a home run in the bottom of the inning on their way to a series sweep. But the Twins really had themselves to blame. Mauer reached on a single later in the at-bat and the Twins loaded the bases with no outs but failed to score.

- Getty Images
Golf 220 43 C'mon, ref!: Biggest blunders of the past year 11702523 World Cup: England vs. Germany World+Cup%3A+England+vs.+Germany Golf

Frank Lampard's deft chip shot late in the first half beat German keeper Manuel Neuer, hit the bottom of the crossbar and clearly crossed the chalk line before bouncing out of the goal in a World Cup second-round game. It would have leveled the score at 2-2. Instead, the referee and linesmen did not allow the goal. Play continued and Germany rolled to a 4-1 win.

- Getty Images
EndCap Fox Sports Video and Photo Gallery
thumbnail galleryTitle shortDescription longDescription blurb galUpdated pageNumber totalPages galleryUrl