World Cup

Golden Ball nominees announced

Share This Story


David Villa and Wesley Sneijder are the favourites to win the World Cup's Golden Ball award for best player after the nominees were announced.

Sun., Jul. 11
Netherlands 0-1(aet) Spain | Recap

FIFA's Technical Study Group selected 10 players to contest the coveted gong, which was last won by France's Zinedine Zidane at Germany 2006.

Accredited media representatives will now vote for their top three stars of the tournament, with the winners set to be announced after Sunday's final.

World Cup Golden Ball nominees: David Villa, Xavi, Andres Iniesta (Spain); Wesley Sneijder, Arjen Robben (Holland); Bastian Schweinsteiger, Mesut Ozil (Germany); Diego Forlan (Uruguay); Asamoah Gyan (Ghana); Lionel Messi (Argentina).

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by

More than Sports on MSN