Six Spain players nominated for award

Andres Iniesta of FC Barcelona
Andres Iniesta insists Barcelona are taking nothing for granted in the Primera Division
Share This Story




Who are the best midfielders gracing the game? Here's our top ten.

Spain has six midfielders from its European Championship-winning team competing for selection in a FIFPro World XI.

FIFA says Barcelona quartet Andres Iniesta, Xavi Hernandez, Cesc Fabregas and Sergio Busquets, plus Xabi Alonso of Real Madrid and Manchester City's David Silva are among 15 candidates for three midfield places.

Italy playmaker Andrea Pirlo (Juventus), and German pair Mesut Oezil (Madrid) and Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich) are also nominated.

England has Steven Gerrard (Liverpool) and Frank Lampard (Chelsea). Lampard's Belgian teammate, Eden Hazard, is included.

The other nominees are: Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast, Man City), Luka Modric (Croatia, Madrid) and Franck Ribery (France, Bayern).

The FIFPro World XI, chosen by 50,000 members of the global players' union, will be announced Jan. 7 at the FIFA Ballon D'Or gala in Zurich.

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by

More than Sports on MSN