FOX Soccer inks deal with CONCACAF

David Nathanson, Jeffrey Webb
David Nathanson (L) announced FOX Soccer's new four-year deal with CONCACAF. FOX SOCCER
Share This Story




Click here for updates regarding Wednesday's classic match between Mexico and the United States.

FOX Soccer today announced that is has signed a new four-year agreement with The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) to broadcast the CONCACAF Gold Cup and CONCACAF Champions League.

The agreement starts with the current CONCACAF Champions League season, continuing through the 2015-2016 edition of the tournament. The deal also covers the 2013 and 2015 Gold Cups, giving FOX Soccer exclusive English-language rights in the United States to both of CONCACAF’s showpiece events.

"Our new agreement with CONCACAF comes at a time when soccer in our region of the world is better than ever, with both Gold medal winners from this year's Olympic Games hailing from North America," said FOX Soccer Executive Vice President and General Manager David Nathanson. "Providing unparalleled access to our region's top competitions adds to FOX Soccer's comprehensive portfolio of premier global properties."

"We are extremely proud to continue our partnership with FOX Soccer," said CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb. "CONCACAF is committed to organizing great tournaments that showcase many of the best players in the world.

"The incredible success of our teams at the Olympics demonstrates the deep pool of talent that our member associations are developing throughout the confederation. Our agreement with FOX Soccer offers us the stage to present that talent to the American audience."

Additionally, FOX Soccer has the option of showcasing all CONCACAF Champions League and Gold Cup matches through its wide array of digital platforms, including and FOXSoccer 2Go. This component of the agreement also allows for on-demand access to all matches and highlights, providing FOX Soccer’s fanbase exclusive access to the region’s top domestic soccer.

The CONCACAF Gold Cup, started in 1991, is the confederation's biennial championship for national teams that is contested in odd-numbered years. It is a 12-team event that is played in 13 different cities across the United States with countries qualifying from CONCACAF's three regions.

Mexico has won the tournament a record six times, including the last competition in 2011, when it defeated the United States 4-2 in the final before a crowd of 93,420 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California. That match drew the largest audience in FOX Soccer history, as 945,000 viewers tuned-in to deliver a 1.43 household coverage area rating (according to Nielsen Media Research).

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by


USA gearing up for 2015 Women's World Cup Posted: Jul 12, 2014
Eric Wynalda previews what's in the store for USA in the 2015 Women's World Cup ...

Breaking down the best MLS rivalries Posted: Jul 12, 2014
Eric Wynalda speaks on the best MLS rivalries and NYCFC's impact on the league.

Should young MLS stars develop abroad? Posted: Jul 12, 2014
Eric Wynalda discusses what's next for young USA players like Matt Besler and De...

Will MLS become a world class soccer league? Posted: Jul 12, 2014
Eric Wynalda talks about the future of MLS as a world class soccer league and ho...

2026 World Cup coming to USA? Posted: Jul 07, 2014
Cobi Jones looks at the possibility of the World Cup coming to the USA in 2026.

More than Sports on MSN