Morgan, Wambach up for FIFA award

Abby Wambach (C), Megan Rapinoe (L) and Alex Morgan at the Olympic Games.
Share This Story




See how the United States performed in their gold medal win over Japan.

After winning Olympic gold medals, four United States players are chasing the title of FIFA Women's World Player of the Year for 2012.

FIFA named Abby Wambach, Alex Morgan, Carli Lloyd and Megan Rapinoe from the victorious U.S. team at the London Games among 10 candidates on Thursday for the most prestigious individual honor in football.

No American has won since Mia Hamm in 2001 and `02, the first years that FIFA made the women's award.

Wambach placed third last time behind Homare Sawa, of 2011 World Cup winner Japan, and Brazil forward Marta.

Wambach scored five goals at the Olympics and Lloyd scored twice as the U.S. beat Japan 2-1 in the final at Wembley Stadium. Morgan and Rapinoe both scored three times at the tournament.

Japan has three candidates, including Sawa, goalkeeper Miho Fukumoto and Aya Miyama. Five-time winner Marta and Camille Abily of France have also been nominated.

Christine Sinclair of bronze medalist Canada was nominated after leading the Olympics with six goals, including a hat trick in a tense 4-3 semifinal loss in extra time to the Americans. FIFA has since banned Sinclair for four matches for her conduct after the match.

Pia Sundhage, who coached the U.S. Olympic team, and Norio Sasaki of Japan are among 10 candidates for the best coach of a women's team. Sasaki will defend his title.

Another man nominated for the award is Steve Swanson, who guided the U.S. under-20 team to win their World Cup in Japan last month.


USA star Alex Morgan is a heart-breaker on and off the field. See why.

The nomination lists were chosen by FIFA committee members and France Football magazine, which co-organizes FIFA's annual awards.

Three-candidate shortlists are to be announced Nov. 29 in Sao Paulo after voting by national team coaches and captains, plus invited journalists. Winners are to be named at FIFA's annual gala in Zurich on Jan. 7.

FIFA will announce nominees for the Ballon d'Or and other men's awards on Monday.

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by


USA gearing up for 2015 Women's World Cup Posted: Jul 12, 2014
Eric Wynalda previews what's in the store for USA in the 2015 Women's World Cup ...

Breaking down the best MLS rivalries Posted: Jul 12, 2014
Eric Wynalda speaks on the best MLS rivalries and NYCFC's impact on the league.

Should young MLS stars develop abroad? Posted: Jul 12, 2014
Eric Wynalda discusses what's next for young USA players like Matt Besler and De...

Will MLS become a world class soccer league? Posted: Jul 12, 2014
Eric Wynalda talks about the future of MLS as a world class soccer league and ho...

2026 World Cup coming to USA? Posted: Jul 07, 2014
Cobi Jones looks at the possibility of the World Cup coming to the USA in 2026.

More than Sports on MSN