Rose Bowl to be site of CONCACAF Gold Cup final

Share This Story


The Rose Bowl has been selected as the site of next year's final of the CONCACAF Gold Cup, soccer's championship of North and Central America and the Caribbean.

CONCACAF, soccer's regional governing body, announced the decision Wednesday.

The winner of the game on June 25 will qualify for the 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup in Brazil. The 12-nation Gold Cup opens June 5.

Mexico is defending champion of the event, beating the United States 5-0 in the 2009 final at Giants Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J.

The Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif., last hosted the Gold Cup in 2002, when the final was played there. The stadium was the site of Brazil's victory over Italy in the 1994 World Cup final.

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by


USA gearing up for 2015 Women's World Cup Posted: Jul 12, 2014
Eric Wynalda previews what's in the store for USA in the 2015 Women's World Cup ...

Breaking down the best MLS rivalries Posted: Jul 12, 2014
Eric Wynalda speaks on the best MLS rivalries and NYCFC's impact on the league.

Should young MLS stars develop abroad? Posted: Jul 12, 2014
Eric Wynalda discusses what's next for young USA players like Matt Besler and De...

Will MLS become a world class soccer league? Posted: Jul 12, 2014
Eric Wynalda talks about the future of MLS as a world class soccer league and ho...

2026 World Cup coming to USA? Posted: Jul 07, 2014
Cobi Jones looks at the possibility of the World Cup coming to the USA in 2026.

More than Sports on MSN