Verbeek selects full squad for Asia Cup qualifier

Share This Story



Everton pair Tim Cahill and Lucas Neill were included in Pim Verbeek's near full-strength Australia squad Wednesday for next week's Asian Cup qualifier at Oman. Palermo midfielder Mark Bresciano returned to the 23-man squad for the Nov. 14 match at Muscat after missing the recent drawn friendly against Netherlands and the 1-0 win over Oman at Melbourne due to a knee strain. Bruce Djite, Brad Jones and Mile Sterjovski return for the first time since helping Australia qualify for the 2010 World Cup, while Celtic striker Scott McDonald was left out and Blackburn midfielder Vince Grella was not considered due to injury. Former Glasgow Rangers and Newcastle United defender Craig Moore was among the three domestic A-League players named to the squad. Australia has a share of the group B lead in Asian Cup qualifying with four points, but needs to complete the home-and-away wins over Oman after an upset loss at home to Kuwait. The top two teams in the group advance to the 2011 Asian Cup at Qatar.
Australia squad: Mark Bresciano, Tim Cahill, David Carney, Scott Chipperfield, Jason Culina, Bruce Djite, Brett Emerton, Adam Federici, Brett Holman, Mile Jedinak, Brad Jones, Josh Kennedy, Harry Kewell, Patrick Kisnorbo, Mark Milligan, Craig Moore, Lucas Neill (captain), Mark Schwarzer, Mile Sterjovski, Carl Valeri, Dario Vidosic, Luke Wilkshire, Rhys Williams.