FIFA Golden Ball Winners

Share This Story



List of FIFA Golden Ball winners (the FIFA player of the year award combined with the France Football magazine Golden Ball award from 2010):

2010-Lionel Messi, Argentina

2011-Lionel Messi, Argentina


Previous winners of the FIFA player of the year award:

1991-Lothar Matthaeus, Germany

1992-Marco Van Basten, Netherlands

1993-Roberto Baggio, Italy

1994-Romario, Brazil

1995-George Weah, Liberia

1996-Ronaldo, Brazil

1997-Ronaldo, Brazil

1998-Zinedine Zidane, France

1999-Rivaldo, Brazil

2000-Zinedine Zidane, France

2001-Luis Figo, Portugal

2002-Ronaldo, Brazil

2003-Zinedine Zidane, France

2004-Ronaldinho, Brazil

2005-Ronaldinho, Brazil

2006-Fabio Cannavaro, Italy

2007-Kaka, Brazil

2008-Cristiano Ronaldo, Portugal

2009-Lionel Messi, Argentina


Previous winners of the Golden Ball, awarded to the European player of the year by France Football magazine:

1956-Stanley Matthews, Blackpool

1957-Alfredo Di Stefano, Real Madrid

1958-Raymond Kopa, Real Madrid

1959-Alfredo Di Stefano, Real Madrid

1960-Luis Suarez, Barcelona

1961-Omar Sivori, Juventus

1962-Josef Masopust, Dukla Prague

1963-Lev Yashin, Dynamo Moscow

1964-Denis Law, Manchester United

1965-Eusebio, Benfica

1966-Bobby Charlton, Manchester United

1967-Florian Albert, Ferencvaros

1968-George Best, Manchester United

1969-Gianni Rivera, AC Milan

1970-Gerd Muller, Bayern Munich

1971-Johan Cruyff, Ajax

1972-Franz Beckenbauer, Bayern Munich

1973-Johan Cruyff, Barcelona

1974-Johan Cruyff, Barcelona

1975-Oleg Blokhin, Dynamo Kiev

1976-Franz Beckenbauer, Bayern Munich

1977-Allan Simonsen, Borussia Moenchengladbach

1978-Kevin Keegan, Hamburg SV

1979-Kevin Keegan, Hamburg SV

1980-Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, Bayern Munich

1981-Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, Bayern Munich

1982-Paolo Rossi, Juventus

1983-Michel Platini, Juventus

1984-Michel Platini, Juventus

1985-Michel Platini, Juventus

1986-Igor Belanov, Dynamo Kiev

1987-Ruud Gullit, AC Milan

1988-Marco van Basten, AC Milan

1989-Marco van Basten, AC Milan

1990-Lothar Matthaeus, Inter Milan

1991-Jean-Pierre Papin, Marseille

1992-Marco van Basten, AC Milan

1993-Roberto Baggio, Juventus

1994-Hristo Stoichkov, Barcelona

1995-George Weah, AC Milan

1996-Matthias Sammer, Borussia Dortmund

1997-Ronaldo, Inter Milan

1998-Zinedine Zidane, Juventus

1999-Rivaldo, Barcelona

2000-Luis Figo, Real Madrid

2001-Michael Owen, Liverpool

2002-Ronaldo, Real Madrid

2003-Pavel Nedved, Juventus

2004-Andriy Shevchenko, AC Milan

2005-Ronaldinho, Barcelona

2006-Fabio Cannavaro, Juventus-Real Madrid

2007-Kaka, AC Milan

2008-Cristiano Ronaldo, Manchester United

2009-Lionel Messi, Barcelona

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by

SOCCER Headlines

More than Sports on MSN