Premier League

Team of the year includes Bale, Suarez

Gareth Bale and Luis Suarez
Luis Suarez and Gareth Bale are both on the PFA team of the year.
Share This Story




Check out the movers and shakers in our Club Power Rankings list.

Luis Suarez has been selected in English football's team of the year by his fellow professionals while serving a 10-game ban for biting an opponent.

The Professional Footballers' Association voting had already taken place when Suarez sunk his teeth into Chelsea defender Branislav Ivanovic last Sunday.

In a fast-track process, Suarez received his ban Wednesday.

In Sunday's team of the year, Manchester United's David De Gea is in goal. The defenders are Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United) and Leighton Baines (Everton).

In midfield are Chelsea duo Juan Mata and Eden Hazard, Manchester United's Michael Carrick and Tottenham's Gareth Bale.

Up front with Suarez is Manchester United's Robin van Persie.

For the main player of the year award, Bale is the leading contender.

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by