Gators’ Easley, Purifoy named to Nagurski watch list

DALLAS – Two University of Florida football players were named to the preseason watch lists for two national awards on Thursday, announced the Football Writers Association of America. Defensive lineman Dominique Easley was named to both the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list and the 2013 Outland Trophy watch list, and Loucheiz Purifoy was named to the Nagurski Trophy list as well.
The Outland Trophy is awarded annually to the best interior lineman in college football while the Bronko Nagurski Trophy is presented annually by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club to the national defensive player of the year. The Outland Trophy and Bronko Nagurski Trophy winners are chosen from finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. Semi-finalists for the Outland Trophy will be named on Nov. 20, followed on Nov. 25 by a list of three finalists. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 21.
The winner of the 68th Outland Trophy will be announced on ESPN on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 12 from Disney’s Boardwalk in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 9, 2014 in Omaha, Neb. The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Dec. 9 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte. Florida head coach Will Muschamp will be the keynote speaker at this year’s banquet.
Easley, a senior from Staten Island, N.Y., has played in 29 games with 23 starts in his career. He has totaled 67 tackles, 16 tackles-for-loss and 5.5 sacks in his three seasons in Gainesville. Last season, he led UF with four sacks.
Purifoy, a junior from Pensacola, Fla., has made 26 appearances for the Gators with 12 starts at cornerback and one start at wide receiver. He is the team’s leading returning tackler after racking up 51 tackles last year, while also forcing three fumbles and breaking up five passes.
Easley and Purifoy have also been named to the 2013 Bednarik Award watch list, the Athlon Sports 2013 Preseason All-SEC Team and Phil Steele’s 2013 Preseason All-SEC Team.