Lewan, Hagerup win top position awards

Michigan’s Taylor Lewan and Will Hagerup each picked up individual honors on the first night of Big Ten football awards Monday, while several Wolverines and Spartans were named to the All-Conference teams.

Lewan won the Rimington-Pace Award for the conference’s best offensive lineman and Hagerup picked up the Eddleman-Fields Award for the best punter. Lewan was also named as a First-Team All-Conference tackle by both the media and coaches, while Hagerup was named First Team by the media, but just Honorable Mention by the coaches.

Lewan and Hagerup were the only Wolverines to earn First-Team honors on the media ballot, and Le’Veon Bell was Michigan State’s only representative. Jake Ryan made Second-Team according to the media, as did Dion Sims, William Gholston, Max Bullough, Johnny Adams, Darqueze Dennard and Mike Sadler.

Michigan guard Patrick Omameh joined Lewan, Bell, Bullough, Adams, Dennard and Sadler as First-Team selection by the coaches, with Sims and Michigan’s Craig Roh and Jordan Kovacs on the second team.

The biggest individual awards, including Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year, will be announced on Tuesday.