Ettinger, women's pursuit team athletes of year

Share This Story



Mountain biker Stephen Ettinger and women's pursuit members Sarah Hammer, Dotsie Bausch, Jannie Reed and Lauren Tamayo have been chosen as USA Cycling's athletes of the year.

They'll be honored at the U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame induction ceremony Saturday in Davis, Calif.

The team of Hammer, Bausch and Tamayo set the world record for the team pursuit of 3 minutes, 19.569 seconds, becoming the first team to break the 3:20 barrier. Hammer, Bausch and Reed also won the silver medal at the track world championships, the best finish by an American team.

Ettinger repeated as champion at the USA Cycling Mountain Bike Cross-Country Nationals this year.

Hall of Fame inductees this year are road and track cyclists Marty Nothstein and Bobby Walthour Jr., off-road racer Ruthie Matthes and contributor Mike Sinyard.

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "Post comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be Polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

powered by


Hood: Another black eye for Cycling Posted: Aug 24, 2012
Andrew Hood of Velo News discusses Lance Armstrong's decision to drop his challe...

London Beat: Cyclists take silver in team pursuit Posted: Aug 06, 2012
Cyclists Dotsie Bausch and Jennie Reed join to talk about their si...

In Focus: Dotsie Bausch Posted: Jul 12, 2012
Laura Okmin tells the triumphant story of track cyclist Dotsie Bausch.

Fox Sports Store