FOX Sports Exclusive
Cal can't even get pick-six right
The news worth celebrating was that Cal defensive back Michael Lowe had intercepted a pass and returned it for a touchdown.
You’re not supposed to do showy things when you score touchdowns in college football, but this was Michael Lowe’s time to get his shine on, teammates be damned.
So he flipped himself into the end zone and got a 15-yard unsportsmanlike conduct penalty.
The bad news was that none of that really happened.
Lowe was ruled down by contact shortly after the interception, meaning anything occurring between that and the next snap doesn’t count.
Except for penalties.
You might think wiping off a touchdown would also wipe off all its accessory events, such as yardage and penalties. But you can be flagged for dead-ball personal fouls, meaning Michael Lowe must really be feeling like a dunce right now.
More Stories From Tully Corcoran