Kentucky frosh scores for other team
It's a college basketball ritual, as steeped in tradition as Midnight Madness, big dances and one-and-done wunderkinds — putting your star freshman in his place by pounding him for the one thing he did wrong, even among the dozens of things he did right.
And perhaps nobody is more adept at ripping into mega-star teenagers like Kentucky's John Calipari. But even Coach Cal is going to have a hard time finding fault in this, even if the play cost his team two points.
On Monday night, the top-ranked Wildcats hosted Division II Montevallo in an exhibition game at Rupp Arena. Not surprisingly, Kentucky dropped the Falcons, 95-72. Freshman James Young, a top-10 prospect coming out of high school, did his thing with 18 points. The only problem?
Two of them were for the other team. Just watch.
You can't fault Young's hustle, only his accuracy. And thus the dilemma for Calipari for the guard who officially finished with 16 points. The guy scored for the other team! But how can Cal rip him?
Calipari's answer? You can't.
The play "made me laugh. I thought he made a 3(-pointer) out there," Calipari was quoted as saying by the school's web site.
Actually, even though Young was behind the 3-point when he let go of the ball, there is actually a rule that explains why the basket only counts as two points. According to the NCAA rulebook, Rule 5, Section 1(1a):
When a player scores a field goal in the opponent’s basket, it shall count two points for the opponent regardless of the location on the playing court from where it was released. Such a field goal shall not be credited to a player in the scorebook but shall be indicated with a footnote.