IMG National 7v7 set to begin

The National 7v7 Football Association (NFA7v7) will kick off the fourth-annual IMG7v7 National Championship at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Fla., June 20-22. The season-ending event will feature the largest field of teams in the event’s history, with more than 30 teams from 13 states, Washington D.C. and Canada taking aim at the Club Division title.

“We’ve made great progress over the past two years in bringing structure, safety and an overall positive competitive environment to the sport,” remarked Blake Ulrich, Director of Events, NFA7v7.  “A lot of that progress is due to the support of more than 40 local and regional events with organizers who believe in what we are trying to do for the sport. We look forward to continuing to expand our network and deliver upon our mission.”

Pool play will begin on Saturday morning at 9:30 a.m. The double-elimination tournament will begin Sunday at 8 a.m. Seeding will be based on pool play.

Team Tampa has won the national title the past two years. They are led by quarterback Dwayne Lawson (Tampa Hillsborough), wide receiversGeorge Campbell (Tarpon Springs East Lake) and Ryan Davis (St. Petersburg Lakewood) and safety Derwin James (Haines City). Unsigned Preps could very well be this year’s favorite. They are stacked and led by blue chip prospects like wide receivers Deon Cain (Tampa Bay Tech), Ray Ray McCloud (Tampa Sickles) and Nate Craig (Tampa Catholic).  Another favorite is the South Florida Express. This season they are led by athleteJaquon Johnson (Miami Killian) and cornerback Tyrek Cole (Miramar).

The winner of the Southeast Regional was Pro Impact from the Jacksonville area. They are led by defensive backs Kevin Toliver (Jacksonville Trinity Christian), Ben Edwards (Jacksonville Trinity Christian), and Deontai Williams (Jacksonville Trinity Christian). Another talented team from Jacksonville is River City Kings. They have top end recruits like quarterback DeAndre Johnson (Jacksonville First Coast), wide receivers Tristan Payton (Jacksonville First Coast) and Kalif Jackson (Jacksonville Fletcher).

Quarterback Brady White (Newhall, Ca./Hart) and cornerback Inman Marshall (Long Beach Poly) lead the way for B2G-5-Stars from Los Angeles, Calif. The Cam Newton All-Stars are led by Tyler Queen (Kennesaw, Ga./ North Cobb) and athlete Terry Godwin (Hoganville, Ga./Callaway). The North Carolina Elite are led bydefensive backs Mook Reynolds (Greensboro, N.C./Northern Guilford), Van Smith (Cornelius, N.C./Hough), Corey Bell(Cornelius, N.C./Hough) and Kaleb Chalmers (Greenwood, S.C.). will have a team covering the event. Check back for a recap of the event, a ton of player interviews, photo galleries and video highlights.

Here’s a list of teams that are participating –

Club Division: AWP (Fort Wayne, Ind.)

B2G 5-Star (Los Angeles, Calif.)

BBT Athletics (Los Angeles, Calif.)

BOOM Football (Chicago, Ill.)

Cam Newton All-Stars (Atlanta, Ga.)

Colorado Connect (Denver, Colo.)

Core 6 Athletes (Chicago, Ill.

Florida Fire (Miami, Fla.)

Go Hard Elite (Louisville, Ky.)

Hard Knocks (Miami, Fla.)

IDFFL (Toronto, Canada)

Midwest Elite (Detroit, Mich.)

Mississippi Grind (Biloxi, Miss.)

N.C. Elite (Charlotte, N.C.)

NOVA Elite (Washington D.C.)

Next Level Greats 1 (Pitman, N.J.)

Next Level Greats 2 (Pitman, N.J.)

Next Level Knoxville (Knoxville, Tenn.)

Next Level Night Hawks (Lakeland, Fla.)

Polk County Dream Team (Lakeland, Fla.)

Pro Impact (Jacksonville, Fla.)

PTP Sports (Louisville, Ky.)

Rat Pak Football (Orlando, Fla.)

Recruit Ready (Winnipeg, Canada)

River City Kings (Jacksonville, Fla.)

South Florida Express Elite (Miami, Fla.)

Southern Xpress All-Stars Elite (Nashville, Tenn.)

Southern Xpress All-Stars Gold (Nashville, Tenn.)

Team Delaware (Dover, Del.)

Team TAP (Winter Springs, Fla.)

 Team Tampa (Tampa, Fla.)

 Team Tampa Too (Tampa, Fla.)

Treasure Coast Elite (Vero Beach, Fla.)

Unsigned Preps (Tampa, Fla)

Unsigned Preps Youth (Tampa, Fla.).